LIVE: 8.02% vote until 9am in 5th phase of UP polls

Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections entered the fifth phase on Sunday, with voters set to decide the fate of 693 candidates in 61 constituencies.

As many as 61 constituencies, spread across 12 districts in eastern Uttar Pradesh, are holding polls for the fifth round of state elections on Sunday. Key constituencies in this phase include Ayodhya and Prayagraj. Once considered congressional strongholds, Amethi and Raebareli will also vote on Sunday.

Other districts expected to hold elections in the fifth phase are Sultanpur, Chitrakoot, Pratapgarh, Kaushambi, Prayagraj, Barabanki, Bahraich, Shravasti and Gonda.

According to data from the Electoral Commission, 2,24,77,494 voters will decide the fate of 693 candidates. Voting will begin at 7 a.m. and continue until 6 p.m.

Among the prominent faces is Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, who shows up at the Sirathu assembly headquarters in Kaushambi district. He is in direct contest with the candidate of Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) Pallavi Patel.

The campaign for the fifth phase ended on Friday evening and all necessary arrangements have been made, the state Chief Electoral Officer Ajay Kumar Shukla said on Saturday.

Follow all updates here:

  • February 27, 2022 10:28 am IST

    Wise Voter Turnout

    Until 9 a.m., Amethi recorded 8.67% of the votes. While Ayodhya had 9.44%, Bahraich 7.45%, Barabanki 6.21%, Chitrakoot 8.80%, Gonda 8.31%, Kaushambi 11.40%, Pratapgarh 6.95%, Prayagraj 6.95 %, Raebareli 7.48%, Shrawasti 9.67%. percent and Sultanpur 8.60 percent, according to Electoral Commission data.

  • Feb 27, 2022 9:37 a.m. IST

    Congress leader votes in Allahabad

    HT picture

    Anugrah Narain Singh of Congress, a four-time former MP for Allahabad North Assembly constituency, after casting his ballot at the polling station set up at the Bharat Scout and Guide Intermediate College in the city of Prayagraj on Sunday. He expressed confidence of a victory. The 71-year-old veteran is battling with incumbent BJP MP from seat Harshvardhan Bajpai, 40.

  • Feb 27, 2022 9:04 a.m. IST

    ‘Will win big’: BJP leader

    BJP MP for Prayagaraj Rita Bahuguna Joshi votes in the fifth phase of UP polls. “We expect a turnout of 70% (in this phase), we will win big. Hoping to form a government with more than 300 seats,” she said.

  • Feb 27, 2022 8:08 a.m. IST

    In Prayagraj, 2,236 polling stations set up for voters

    In Prayagraj district, a total of 5,080 voting booths were set up in 2,236 polling stations. This includes 351 cabins designated as critical. Webcasting facilities are provided in 3,072 booths, while 240 videographers have also been hired.

  • February 27, 2022 07:52 IST

    ‘BJP to cross 300 mark and form government again’: Sidharth Singh

    HT picture
    HT picture

    BJP candidate from Allahabad West constituency Sidharth Nath Singh casts his vote at Jwala Devi Saraswati Vidya Mandir Inter College. “We will cross the 300 mark and form the government again. The people have to make a decision and they will vote for the development work,” he said after the vote.

  • February 27, 2022 07:47 IST

    ‘Amethi has never been anyone’s stronghold’: BJP leader Sanjay Singh

    Amethi’s BJP candidate Sanjay Singh votes. “Amethi has never been the stronghold of anyone, be it Gandhis or anyone else. It has always belonged to the people…It is war against the oppressors,” he quoted .

  • Feb 27, 2022 7:44 a.m. IST

    Message from BJP’s KP Maurya to Akhilesh Yadav

    On March 10, with the blessing of the people, the cycle of Akhilesh Yadav which flies high in the sky of arrogance, will fall into the Bay of Bengal. His bike had first flown in Saifai and now it will go to the Bay of Bengal, Chief Government Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya has said as polling begins in UP’s east.

    The BJP leader is dispatched from the Sirathu assembly headquarters in Kaushambi district.

  • February 27, 2022 07:39 IST

    BJP candidate in Allahabad offers prayers to Sai Baba Mandir in Prayagraj

  • Feb 27, 2022 7:29 a.m. IST

    First Voters at Pryagraj Polling Station

    HT picture
    HT picture

    Security personnel are on alert as early voters arrive to vote at BBS Inter College in Shivkuti, Teliarganj area of ​​Prayagraj.

  • February 27, 2022 07:03 IST

    Voting begins for the fifth phase begins in UP

    Voting for the fifth phase of the Assembly elections has started in 61 Assembly constituencies in 12 districts of Uttar Prades.

    Key faces in the fray on Sunday include Deputy State Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, Minister Sidharth Nath Singh, Congress Legislature party leader Aradhana Mishra.

  • Feb 27, 2022 6:39 a.m. IST

    Assembly Elections: Eastern Uttar Pradesh; fifth phase today

    The Uttar Pradesh assembly elections are now moving to the eastern part of the state as 61 assembly constituencies across 12 districts head to the polls in the fifth phase on Sunday. Read more

Source link

Comments are closed.